My Beloved Bicycle

Three times a week. One hour at a time. Goodness knows how many miles. I rode my beloved Schwinn 5 speed. Then the unthinkable happened. Bicycle and girl took a tumble and we fell hard.  The bike is fine – not a dent, not a scratch not a chip off its shiny silver and navy exterior – the girl …. well, the girl broke her ankle and now has a plate and several screws holding it together. 

Did I mention the bike is fine? I don’t blame my beloved bicycle. I miss the wind in my hair. 

Trying to make sense of it, I thought I would write it down. I few days post surgery, I don’t do much but stay in bed and make threatening calls to my orthopedist; insisting that he has some miracle drug that will have me up and biking again tomorrow. He denies this. Until then my bed is my new favorite thing.  I tell my bicycle not to worry, that we will be friends again soon.

Leave a Reply

